The Words and Photographs of Dan Powell

Update

To those who may still check up here every once in a while, I’ve been caught up in a lot of things, mainly school, and I should be busy probably until I’ve taken AP exams (some time in May).

I applied to three schools for next year – WPI, RPI and RIT – and each has offered me a $48,000 scholarship which makes deciding that much harder. I’m looking at mechanical engineering or some kind of engineering, but I don’t think I want to forget about photography, which puts RIT in the #1 spot, since they offer a bunch of art majors as well as engineering. I’m just curious about the strength of their engineering program versus that of WPI or RPI (both of which cost more than $10,000 extra per year). We’ll see.

I ski raced this winter for the first time ever, which was a blast, and now I’m a captain of the tennis team. Photography has been put on the back burner for now, as you may have noticed, though I’ve been working on two video projects with a Canon XL2, which has been a great learning experience.

But I’ll get around to posting some of the work I’ve done over the past few months eventually.

I also have a project in the works involving a Mamiya RB67 and color film, but it’s still in the early stages.

So until then..

3 responses

  1. A couple of years ago I was in my University’s Formula SAE team in Australia. RIT brought their car over (which is built by student Mechanical engineers) and it was very professionally done. I’ve barely kept up in recent years and don’t know how they are fairing, but a good SAE car almost always comes from a Uni with a good Mech Eng department.

    7 April, 2009 at 04:30

  2. How goes that decision process, btw? Homing in on anything yet?

    21 April, 2009 at 19:25

  3. Samantha Bulewich

    As a former RIT photography student, I highly recommed you to go there, you will not regret a thing! The program is amazing.

    28 April, 2009 at 16:20

Leave a Reply

