The Words and Photographs of Dan Powell

Winter Break

I finished up my very first semester at college with a B in Chemistry and As in everything else, and came home to my family, my girlfriend, and the wonderful Vermont I’ve lived in since forever. I shot some newspaper assignments, got a little raise (yes!), shot a gay wedding (interesting experience), and spent some time doing much and some time doing nothing! I’ve also decided to make some upgrades to the equipment lineup, starting with Canon’s 24mm f/1.4L II to replace the Sigma 20mm f/1.8, which was great, but really not sharp enough for my liking. I’m also getting the 135mm f/2L which should be a whole bunch of fun. πŸ™‚ I realized it would have been useful at the wedding where I was shooting 1/30 sec. at f/2.8, ISO 4000 on the 70-200/2.8L (image stabilization came from leaning against doors and pillars). The Zeiss 50/1.4 has been dropping the ball lately, but I think I’ll hold onto it for a while longer because the images really do look nice and it feels so good to use.

Enough with the gear talk! Let’s see some photos! I shot these the morning after driving back home from RPI.

Precipitation of any form looks much prettier in Vermont than Troy. πŸ™‚ There was some interesting frost that appeared on the trees during a foggy day.

I got some interesting distortion at the bottom of that last one from shooting right over a tree branch.

Then I shot a feature for a local ski mountain..

And then it was time to play in the snow!

And then Padmavati and I went to Burlington for a day together. Made a few photos, but it was so cold! I hope we can go back there again.


Trying to be Chris Weeks. πŸ˜‰ I wish I had brought the Canonet. But then again it was freezing cold outside. Next time.

It also snowed a couple nights ago and at around 10:30PM Padmavati and I went into completely-empty Woodstock and made photos. I want to do that again as well, it was a lot of fun and very beautiful!

The 50/1.4 is soft – even at f/1.8 sometimes.

But I love it for closer portraits.

It also looked nice on my road during the day..

The 850 looking as trusty as ever! πŸ™‚

And finally, a simple winter landscape as the sun went down. Probably should have used an ND grad but I still kind of like it.

Hope everyone reading this is doing well! I’ll post more soon. Also, I think the kids on my floor and I might actually start working on a zombie movie (in 1080p with the 5D Mark II of course) that everyone’s been wanting to do since we’ve become friends. Should be fun.

I go back to school on the 24th, which is exciting, but I really miss being home. Can’t wait for new classes but I can’t wait for summer vacation either.

One response

  1. LeeAnn

    I love your work, Dan! I am also really enjoying our new camera, and thank you for your advice on lenses and whatnot. Hope the new semester is treating you well, and see you later in the spring!!

    27 January, 2010 at 15:14

Leave a Reply

