The Words and Photographs of Dan Powell

New Things

I decided that 400 pixels wide is silly for a photoblog. So I went rooting through WordPress themes until I found a nice simple big one. Then I made a new header. And now I’m putting up some photos nice and big.

What else is new?

I’m moving into my dorm at RPI for sophomore year in six days. I’m shooting a wedding in nine days. I’m going to my first class in eleven days.

I’m into music again. Bought a little DJ thing to mix, scratch and blend songs I have, and met up with a good friend of mine the other night to try making a dubstep tune.

I almost got a 35mm f/1.4, and was considering an old 85mm f/1.5 too.. but I dunno. I’m learning to work better with what I’ve got right now. I’ve been making photos for the newspaper that I really didn’t like that much, so I think I just need to hone my skills a bit more.

Here’s some photos I’ve been making on my own.

Clouds and Stars

How amazing is she in a bigger photo! 🙂

I got to shoot a feature on a local lake.

Flight

I also got to see Jimmy Cliff perform at my local ski mountain. Pretty sweet.

Jimmy Cliff

Jimmy Cliff

I met lots of Jamaicans. Something you don’t usually see in Vermont. 😉

Composition

Stuff you do usually see in Vermont. Har.

Windows XP

Doesn’t that kinda remind you of Windows XP?

A Dog on the Beach

Then we were driving along some back roads and found this pretty awesome field full of hay bales.

Summer Love

Us

I’m gonna have some of my work displayed in a coffee shop in November. I can sell it, too, which is kind of exciting since there’s a good amount of traffic (read higher concentration of rich tourists) who might want to pony up some big/medium bucks for my photos.

Kinda liked that one.

And that one.

That’s about all the photos I’ve got for now.

I just got my hands on two Nikon strobes, one of which is an SB800 and can be put into a pop-triggered mode (i.e. fires when it sees another flash pop). I may need to buy another receiver unit for the SB600 (I have one for my Canon strobe) in order to get 3 lights, but 2 is fine for now I think.

I’ll be busy with moving and wedding photos and then SCHOOL but I’ll be sure to post an update when I can get around to it.

2 responses

  1. These photos are amazing.

    9 September, 2010 at 11:50

Leave a Reply

