The Words and Photographs of Dan Powell

The sky was cloudy this afternoon. I ran a few miles and got back right as the sun was passing between clouds and the horizon.

While I was down in this little shore area I heard a voice behind me say, “How did you get that?” I turned around and saw a little boy watching me from above on his scooter. He came down and skipped rocks while we talked for a few minutes. I was really impressed at the courage he had to start talking to a total stranger. Older people don’t have that level of curiosity or that ability to overcome the fear of looking un-cool.

I want to always ask questions, like that little boy. I should have talked to him more than I did.. I think I would have learned more.

Leave a Reply

