The Words and Photographs of Dan Powell

The weather is really nice now..

I left the digital camera at home last weekend so I ended up shooting a couple rolls of 120 film on the Kiev. Still waiting for them to come back.. but now I have the digital again, so it’s good. 🙂

Some of these are untouched.. I was using a polarizer and an ND grad, and had my contrast set pretty low to get better dynamic range. It was a look I actually kind of liked. I like it when some photos look ‘real,’ and I think this was a step in the right direction.

Then there’s others, like the black and white one, that I thought would look cooler with some extra contrast and a little burning/dodging.. Post-processing always makes me feel guilty, but once in a while I think it’s worth defying my purist ways. 🙂

What do you think?

2 responses

  1. definitely a step in the right direction sir
    quite beautiful

    as to post processing, i think whatever you can do in a darkroom is fair game, cause that is an essential part of shooting film, right? little dodging and burning never hurt (this may also be a small reassurance for myself as well, haha, cause i feel guilty every time w/ the post processing)

    3 May, 2011 at 13:21

  2. Sean

    damn, the last one has such a sweet gradient from light to dark.
    i really like the feeling in the third to last one, with the blue light. its so simple, but such a familiar feeling of the setting sun somewhere in the distance.

    3 May, 2011 at 16:39

Leave a Reply

